top of page

A New Home in Buffalo: WR Stefon Diggs

Updated: Apr 30, 2020


Minnesota WR Stephon Diggs was just traded to the Buffalo Bills. The official trade involved the Bills trading a 1st-round pick, 5th-round pick, 6th-round pick, and a 2021 4th-round pick to the Vikings for Stephon Diggs and a 2020 7th round pick.

Both sides are probably very excited about this exchange. On the Vikings side, they got a ton of picks including a first rounder and a pick for next year. While the Bills got a great potential WR1 to strengthen their WR position. Even though I think Minnesotta won the trade ( and I would not be surprised if they go into the draft and claim one of the many very skilled WRs available (CeeDee Lamb, Jerry Jeudy, Justin Jefferson, etc.)), but, both teams should be very happy with what they got. I really do like Stephon Diggs in Buffalo and I think his presence is definitely going to make the Bills WRs scary to deal with.

With Diggs as the new WR1 in Buffalo, I see him surpassing 100 receptions, having 1,220 yards and 9 TDs on the season. This is because over the last two seasons in Minnesota, Diggs has averaged 83 receptions, has had over 1,000 yards in each of those years, as well averaging 7 TDs in those two years (9 TDs in 2018 and 6 TDs in 2019). Although, his stats are lower than my predicted numbers are for his 2020 season, I think this was due to him splitting the WR1 spot in Minnesota with his former WR Adam Thielen over the past two years. Now with the opportunity to spread his wings as the only go-to-guy in Buffalo, I think Diggs will finally be the star receiver for Bills QB Josh Allen to go to this year.


The effect of Digg's presence on the Bills is that his now teammate, WR John Brown will go back to being the number 2 WR on the roster and other teammate, WR Cole Beasley will fall to the WR3 spot. This isn't necessarily a bad thing for either of them. In fact it will just mean less coverage, because now defenses will have to pick their poison on who they want to defend since all three have proven to be real weapons for offenses.


Numbers wise, I see both Bills WRs having very similar stats as last season. for John Brown, I see him having 55 receptions, 900 receiving yards, and 6 TDs. Whereas I see Beasley getting 60 receptions for 700 yards and 5 TDs.

In terms of fantasy value, I see Diggs as a top 8 WR for both PPR and standard leagues this season and I think he will be a WR1 or high end WR2 for most leagues. I see John Brown as a high end flex play who is a late round draft pick and Cole Beasley as a possible flex, and a guy you could get off of waivers.


Stefan Diggs 2020 stat predictions:

100 receptions, 1,220 receiving yards and 9 TDs


16 views
bottom of page